The Hunter’s newest cellar door
One of the Hunter Valley’s most successful wineries Brokenwood Wines has recently opened a new $8 million cellar door development. Led by Managing Director and Chief Winemaker, Iain Riggs AM, the new venue was opened on 8 December by co-founder James Halliday. Design was undertaken by Sydney-based architecture and design company Villa + Villa. It is now one of the largest cellar doors in the region, covering 1400 square metres. The facility replaces the original Cellar Door built in 1975 by the winery’s founders James Halliday, Tony Albert and John Beeston. The new complex, built of natural materials and with a tasting room that features circular tasting ‘pods’, features an outdoor terrace, two private tasting rooms, two private dining rooms, a wine museum and a lounge area. The two dining venues are led by Andrew and Janet Wright, known for The Cellar Restaurant at Hunter Valley Gardens, will include casual eatery, Cru Bar + Pantry and modern dining room, The Wood Wood Restaurant. The Wood Restaurant is for lunch daily and dinner on Friday and Saturday evenings, offering contemporary Australian dishes with a strong focus on seafood. The 90-seat restaurant will feature a large display of fresh seafood from the Sydney Fish Market, all of which will also be available for retail along with condiments, Normandy fish stew, oyster knives and a verjuice made by Brokenwood. Cru Bar + Pantry will be open for breakfast, lunch andsnacks daily, serving homemade pies, toasties, wood-fired pizzas and cheese and charcuterie for a more casual dining experience. A museum will be devoted to Brokenwood’s history, with displays of significant ephemera and iconic and aged wines.