How you can score 90 days free Qantas lounge access

Qantas is offering top tier members from other airline frequent flyer programs 90 days complimentary Qantas lounge access if they switch loyalty programs. 

Qantas Loyalty CEO Olivia Wirth said the airline had been swamped with requests to change to Qantas frequent flier programs as the pandemic shut down international travel. 

“With so much uncertainty in the market, we’ve seen a spike in requests from people wanting us to match their status with other airlines,” she said.

“If they are willing to bring their travel across to Qantas, we will fast track them to Gold status.”

Qantas First Lounge at Changi Airport, Singapore.
Qantas First Lounge at Changi Airport, Singapore.

Need more travel? Try these stories
The Little National is a microbrewery that packs a punch
10 incredible things you need to do in Tasmania

The Qantas Frequent Flyer program is one of the most popular in the world, and had remained so during the pandemic.

“The loyalty of our existing frequent flyers during this crisis has been amazing and they’ve kept earning points on the ground knowing they’ll be travelling again soon,” she said.

“We’ve returned the favour by providing status support and status extensions and making some tangible improvements, like a 50 per cent increase in the number of reward seats on domestic flights.”

Qantas Sydney - Bangkok Business Class review

How does it work?

Individuals who hold eligible loyalty status with a qualifying airline program can apply for the Qantas Status Fast Track. This will allow them to earn 100 status credits in three months to qualify for Qantas’ Gold tier.

The offer also includes 90 days of complimentary access to the airline’s network of Qantas Club lounges and extra checked baggage.

Gold tier benefits include global Oneworld and Qantas lounge access, preferential seating and priority access to reward seats, as well as priority check-in, boarding and upgrade requests.

Those wishing to transfer from a higher flying tier – Platinum and Platinum One equivalents – will only be able to transfer to Qantas’ Gold status, rather than have their status matched.

Reaching a higher frequent flyer status requires members to earn the normal requirements within a Membership Year.

Inside the Qantas lounge
Inside the Qantas lounge

Qantas Frequent Flyer Gold Status key benefits:

  • Priority check-in
  • Priority baggage
  • Extra checked baggage allowance
  • Priority boarding
  • Access to premium security lanes
  • On Departure Upgrade requests for domestic flights in Australia
  • Preferred seating
  • Preferential access to selected Qantas Classic Flight Reward seats
  • International Flight Classic Upgrade Reward Request Priority
  • 75% more Qantas Points on eligible flights
  • Benefits of oneworld® Sapphire status around the world with privileges like preferred seating, priority check-in, regardless of the class of travel.
Qantas First Lounge at Changi Airport, Singapore.
Qantas First Lounge at Changi Airport, Singapore.

Who is eligible?

If you are a member of the following frequent flyer programs, then you will be able to score the 90 days Qantas lounge access and status fast track. 

Air Canada

  • 50K
  • 75K
  • Super Elite

Air China – Phoenix Miles

  • Gold
  • Platinum

Air India Flying Returns

  • Golden Edge Club
  • The Maharajah Club

Air New Zealand Airpoints

  • Gold
  • Elite

ANA – Mileage Club

  • Platinum
  • Diamond

Asiana Airlines Asiana Club

  • Diamond
  • Diamond Plus
  • Platinum

Delta – Skymiles

  • Gold Medallion
  • Platinum Medallion
  • Diamond Medallion

Eva Air Infinity MileageLands

  • Gold Card
  • Diamond Card

Etihad – Guest

  • Gold
  • Platinum

Korean Air – Skypass

  • Morning Calm Premium Club Card
  • Million Miler Club Card

Shenzhen Airlines PhoenixMiles

  • PhoenixMiles Gold
  • PhoenixMiles Platinum

Singapore Airlines – KrisFlyer

  • KrisFlyer Elite Gold
  • PPS Club
  • Solitaire PPS Club

South African Airways SAA Voyager

  • Gold
  • Platinum

Thai Airways Royal Orchid Plus

  • Royal Orchid Plus Gold
  • Royal Orchid Plus Platinum

United Airlines – MileagePlus

  • Premier Gold
  • Premier Platinum
  • Premier 1K

Virgin Australia – Velocity

  • Velocity Gold
  • Velocity Platinum

For more information check the Qantas website.

Tags: , , , , , , ,